الطاقة النووية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة


تحتاج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى الكهرباء للحفاظ على نموها الاقتصادي السريع.

ومع التنوع الاقتصادي في الدولة، فهي ستحتاج إلى طاقة كهربائية أكبر لتشغيل قطاعات صناعية وإنشائية وصحية وتقنية جديدة. وحيثما تزدهر أي صناعة جديدة، ينمو معها عدد السكان والطلب على الكهرباء والماء لزيادة التنمية الاقتصادية. وبما أن مناخ الدولة جاف جدًا، فحتى المياه تتطلب طاقة لاستخدامها، ذلك لأن 90% من المياه المستهلكة تأتي من محطات التحلية.

وفي عام 2007، أجرت الدولة دراسة مكثفة لمعرفة احتياجاتها المتزايدة على الطاقة وقدرتها الحالية المتوفرة لتوليد الكهرباء، وأظهرت الدراسة أن إمدادات الكهرباء المتوفرة حاليًا لن تلبي الاحتياجات المستقبلية للدولة. وكغيرها من الدول، تواجه الدولة تحدٍ لتوفير مصادر إضافية للطاقة لدعم التنمية الاقتصادية مع مواجهتها لحقيقة تغير المناخ وحاجتها إلى استخدام تقنيات جديدة صديقة للبيئة وذات انبعاثات كربونية منخفضة.

وقد درست حكومة دولة الإمارات خياراتٍ عدة للطاقة لتلبية احتياجاتها المستقبلية مثل النفط والغاز والفحم والمصادر المتجددة والطاقة النووية، ثم قيّمت هذه المصادر بناءً على تكاليفها وأثرها البيئي وأمن الإمدادات والقدرة على تطويرها اقتصاديًا على المدى الطويل.

وأثبتت الطاقة النووية أنها الخيار الأمثل للدولة وذلك لأنها آمنة وصديقة للبيئة وتقنية مثبتة علميًا ومجدية تجاريًا وتوفر كميات كبيرة من الطاقة الكهربائية مع انعدام الانبعاثات الكربونية الضارة تقريبًا.

وستنوّع الطاقة النووية مصادر الطاقة المتوفرة في الدولة مع ضمان أمن الطاقة في المستقبل، مع العلم أن الاستثمار في الطاقة النووية يعني تطوير صناعة ذات تقنية عالية في الدولة والتي ستوفر فرص وظيفية مميزة على مدى عقود قادمة.

ومع تطوير الدولة لبرنامجها النووي السلمي، فإنها تتجه نحو استخدام مصادر طاقة تتميز بتنوعها وتلبيتها لاحتياجات الدولة من الكهرباء مع توفير أمن مستدام للطاقة، مع مسؤوليتنا في استخدام تقنيات صديقة للبيئة وذات انبعاثات كربونية منخفضة.

لماذا اختارت الدولة الطاقة النووية؟

  • الطاقة النووية يمكنها توليد كميات كبيرة وثابتة من كهرباء الحمل الأساسي على مدار 24 ساعة و365 يومًا في العام، بغض النظر عن الأحوال الجوية.
  • الطاقة النووية يمكنها تقليل الانبعاثات الكربونية في الدولة وتنويعها لإمدادات الطاقة وزيادة أمنها، وتوفير طاقة اقتصادية صديقة للبيئة وموثوقة لعدد السكان المتنامي فيها.
  • الطاقة النووية يمكنها تلبية التزامات الدولة في مجال الاستدامة – فبحلول عام 2020، ستجنّبنا محطات الطاقة النووية الأربعة من إنتاج 12 مليون طن من الانبعاثات الكربونية، وهذا يعادل حجم 420 مليون سيارة تويوتا كامري.
  • لأنها تقنية معتمدة، وأثبتت آخر الإحصاءات أن أكثر من 30 دولة حول العالم تُشغّل 450 من محطات الطاقة النووية لتوليد الكهرباء، وأن 60 محطة جديدة تعد قيد الإنشاء في 14 دولة.

هل تعلم أن محطات الطاقة النووية تنتج كميات كبيرة من الكهرباء بكميات بسيطة من الوقود النووي؟ إذ تستطيع حبيبة يورانيوم واحدة من إنتاج طاقة تعادل الطاقة التي ينتجها 474 لتر من الوقود أو طن واحد من الفحم، وتعد هذه الطاقة كافية لتوليد الكهرباء في منزلٍ واحد لمدة شهرين دون أي انبعاثات كربونية تقريبًا.

هل تريدون معرفة المزيد عن الطاقة النووية؟ يرجى الضغط على الرابط

ما هي أكثر الأفكار الشائعة والخاطئة عن الطاقة النووية؟

content-arrow-5631023a91b3d.png (original)

Nuclear Energy in the UAE


The UAE needs electricity to maintain its rapid economic growth.

As the nation’s economy grows, the UAE requires more electricity to power new sectors from manufacturing and construction to healthcare and ICT. With the growth of new industry comes an increased population, and an increased use of energy and water to power the economy. In the arid climate of the UAE, even water requires energy, as water from desalination plants provides 90% of all potable water consumed.

In 2007, the UAE Government conducted an extensive study into the nation’s growing energy demands and electricity generation capacity. The study found that existing and planned electricity supply would not meet future demand. Like many developing economies today, the UAE was faced with an urgent need to develop additional sources of energy to power its growth, whilst addressing the realities of climate change and the need to deploy cleaner, low-carbon technologies.

The Government reviewed multiple energy options to meet future demand including oil, gas, coal, renewables and nuclear energy. These energy sources were assessed in terms of relative costs, environmental impact, security of supply, and the potential for long-term economic development.

Nuclear energy emerged as the right choice for the UAE because it is a safe, clean and proven technology, it is commercially viable, and it delivers significant volumes of base-load electricity with nearly zero emissions.

Nuclear energy will diversify the nation’s energy supply while ensuring our future energy security. Investment in nuclear energy will also drive the growth of a major, high-tech industry in the UAE and provide high-value jobs for decades to come.

With the development of its peaceful nuclear energy program, the UAE is moving decisively forward with an energy portfolio that is adequately diversified, and balances our nation’s need for a constant and growing electricity supply with a responsibility to implement cleaner, low-carbon technologies.

Why Nuclear in the UAE?

  • Nuclear energy can generate large, stable volumes of baseload electricity 24 hours per day, 365 days per year, regardless of the weather.
  • It will enable the nation to reduce its emissions, diversify its energy supply, increase energy security, and bring the benefits of affordable, clean, reliable energy to a growing population.
  • It will help the UAE meet its sustainability commitments - By 2020, the UAE’s four operating power plants will save 12 million tons of carbon dioxide being released into the air every year. That’s the equivalent volume of 420 million Toyota Camry cars.
  • The technology is also proven. As of July 2015, 30 countries worldwide are operating 438 nuclear reactors for electricity generation and 67 new nuclear plants are under construction in 15 countries.

Did you know that nuclear reactors produce huge volumes of electricity from a very small amount of fuel? One small uranium pellet produces the same amount of energy as 474 liters of oil or one ton of coal – that’s enough energy to power one household for up to two months with almost no carbon emissions.

Want to learn more about nuclear energy? Click here

What are the three biggest myths in nuclear energy?

content-arrow-5631023a91b3d.png (original)