عمليات المحطة


الرخصة التشغيلية

في فبراير 2020، منحت الهيئة الاتحادية للرقابة النووية رخصة التشغيل لشركة نواة للطاقة – وهي شركة تابعة لمؤسسة الإمارات للطاقة النووية ومسؤولة عن تشغيل وصيانة المحطات النووية الأربعة في براكة، مما يسمح لها ببدء تحميل الوقود النووي بأمان في المحطة الأولى.

تم إصدار رخصة التشغيل بعد سلسلة من عمليات التفتيش والدراسة المستفيضة التي قامت بها الهيئة الاتحادية للرقابة النووية لطلب الحصول على رخصة التشغيل. ومنذ عام 2009، خضعت كل من المؤسسة وشركة نواة لأكثر من 280 تفتيش من قبل الهيئة. إلى جانب أكثر من 40 مراجعة وتقييمات إضافية قامت بها الرابطة العالمية للمشغلين النوويين والوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية. وأكدت كافة المراجعات والتقييمات على اتباع دولة الإمارات لأعلى المعايير العالمية في تطويرها للبرنامج النووي السلمي الإماراتي.

وفي عام 2015، قامت المؤسسة بتقديم طلب الحصول على الرخصة التشغيلية للهيئة الاتحادية للرقابة النووية بالنيابة عن شركة نواة للطاقة، والذي يتضمن تفاصيل حول تصميم المحطتين الأولى والثانية وآلية التشغيل وإيقاف التشغيل النهائي لهما. علمًا بأنه قد تم تقديم طلب آخر منفصل للمحطتين الثالثة والرابعة في عام 2017 للهيئة الاتحادية للرقابة النووية.

قم بتحميل الملف الخاص بالرخص التشغيلية للمحطة.

 

تحميل الوقود النووي في المحطة الأولى

ومع استلام رخصة التشغيل، نقلت شركة نواة حزم أعمدة الوقود النووي إلى مبنى احتواء المفاعل. وذلك باستخدام نظام خاص لنقل الوقود من أماكن التخزين إلى مبنى المفاعل. إذ يتم بعد ذلك خفضه بواسطة الرافعات الكبيرة إلى مواقع محددة داخل حاوية المفاعل. وخلال هذه العملية، لا يتم تعريض الوقود النووي للإشعاع ويمكن حمله بدون معدات واقية.

تتم مراقبة العمل عن كثب في جميع الأوقات ويتم تنفيذه وفقًا لأفضل الممارسات الدولية والإجراءات الصارمة.

قم بتحميل الملف الخاص بتحميل الوقود النووي.

التفتيش المستقل

بمجرد تحميل كافة حزم أعمدة الوقود النووي في المفاعل، يقوم فريق من الخبراء من الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية بزيارة محطات براكة لإجراء تفتيش للتحقق من المخزون المادي، إذ يهدف هذا التفتيش لتحديد كافة حزم أعمدة الوقود المحملة في قلب المفاعل باستخدام أرقامها التسلسلية، والتحقق من أن جميع المواد النووية المصرح بها والمخزنة في محطات براكة قد تم حسابها. وبهذه الطريقة، تتأكد الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية أنه استخدام هذه المواد للأغراض السلمية فقط.

تم الانتهاء من التفتيش الأول في مارس 2020. وأظهرت النتائج أن دولة الإمارات لا تزال ملتزمة بحظر الانتشار النووي والشفافية التامة.

وبعد الانتهاء من التفتيش، يتم إجراء سلسلة من الاختبارات المصممة للتحقق من أن كل نظام من أنظمة المفاعل يعمل كما يجب إلى جانب إعادة إغلاق حاوية المفاعل بإحكام.

 

بدء العمليات التشغيلية في المحطة

فقط بعد اكتمال مرحلة الاختبارات هذه والتحقق منها، سيبدأ موظفو شركة نواه عملية بدء تشغيل المفاعل وتحقيق سلسلة من التفاعلات النووية المستمرة داخل المفاعل لأول مرة. تعرف هذه العملية أيضًا باسم بدء العمليات التشغيلية "مرحلة بدء التفاعل النووي" وهي الخطوة التي يتم فيها إطلاق نيوترون للاصطدام بذرة اليورانيوم (تقع حبيبات اليورانيوم داخل حزم أعمدة الوقود النووي في المفاعل)، وينتج عن الاصطدام حرارة والعديد من النيوترونات الأخرى. وتقوم النيوترونات الجديدة بالاصطدام بذرات اليورانيوم الأخرى فتنقسم لينتج عنها حرارة ونيوترونات أكثر. يطلق على هذه العملية اسم التفاعل المتسلسل وتحدث من تلقاء نفسها.

نسمح بعدها للتفاعل بالاستمرار، خطوة بخطوة، لزيادة الحرارة داخل المفاعل. سنقوم ببطء بزيادة معدل التفاعل المتسلسل وكمية الحرارة المنتجة داخل المفاعل حتى نتمكن من إنتاج بخار كافٍ لتشغيل التوربين، والذي يعمل على تدوير المُولّد لإنتاج كهرباء صديقة للبيئة. يستغرق هذه العملية إجراؤها بأمان عدة أشهر حتى تكتمل، ونقوم خلالها بإجراء عدد من الاختبارات على معدات المحطة.

خلال هذه العملية، يتم إجراء العديد من الاختبارات على الأنظمة كجزء من برنامج مكثف يستمر عدة أشهر. خلال هذه العملية، يتم توصيل المفاعل بشبكة الكهرباء في الدولة. وسيتم وصل الطاقة لأول مرة لشبكة الكهرباء في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتوفير أول دفعة من الكهرباء الفعالة والموثوقة والصديقة للبيئة من محطات الطاقة النووية.

وبعد الانتهاء من كافة الاختبارات، يتم إيقاف تشغيل المحطات لإجراء فحص للصيانة قبل بدء التشغيل التجاري الكامل.

قم بتحميل الملف الخاص ببدء العمليات التشغيلية.

ربط المحطة بشبكة الكهرباء

في محطة الطاقة النووية، يتم ربط محطة الطاقة النووية بشبكة الكهرباء بنفس الطريقة التي يتم بها ربط أي محطة تعمل بالغاز أو الفحم أو النفط، فجميع المحطات تستخدم نفس المعدات والإجراءات لربطها بالشبكة. والفرق الرئيسي بين المحطات التي تعمل بالوقود الأحفوري ومحطة الطاقة النووية هو أن محطات الطاقة النووية تستخدم حبيبات اليورانيوم كوقود لإنتاج الحرارة، مما يولد البخار الذي يدور التوربين، والذي بدوره يحرك المولد الكهربائي لإنتاج الكهرباء. هذه العملية لا ينتج عنها أي انبعاثات كربونية.

لتوصيل محطة طاقة نووية بشبكة الكهرباء، يعمل مشغلو المفاعل على زيادة الحرارة الناتجة عن المفاعل تدريجيًا لإنتاج ما يكفي من البخار لبدء دوران التوربين وتشغيل المولد. بمجرد أن يصل المفاعل إلى حوالي 15٪ من الطاقة، يتم توليد ما يكفي من البخار لجعل التوربين يدور بسرعته المثلى حوالي 1500 دورة بالدقيقة، الأمر الذي يسمح للمولد الكهربائي بالاستعداد لربطه بشبكة الكهرباء.

ومع إيصال أول ميغاواط من الكهرباء الصديقة للبيئة من الطاقة النووية السلمية التي إلى المنازل والأعمال التجارية في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات، يعد هذا الإنجاز خطوة أساسية في التأكيد على إنجاز البرنامج النووي السلمي الإماراتي وفقًا لأعلى معايير الأمان والجودة – أولى محطات الطاقة النووية السلمية في الوطن العربي.

قم بتحميل الملف الخاص بربط المحطة بشبكة الكهرباء.

Plant Operations


Operating License

In February 2020, the Federal Authority for Nuclear Regulation (FANR) issued an Operating License to Nawah Energy Company, ENEC’s subsidiary mandated to operate and maintain the four Units at Barakah, allowing them to start safely loading fuel into Barakah Unit 1.

The Operating License was issued following a rigorous series of inspections and extensive study of the Operating License Application (OLA) document by FANR. Since 2009, ENEC and Nawah have been subject to more than 280 inspections by FANR. Additionally, more than 40 independent inspections, reviews and assessments by the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) have taken place. All of the reviews and checks have ensured the highest international standards are met throughout the development and delivery of the UAE Program

In 2015, the OLA was submitted to FANR by ENEC on behalf of Nawah and includes details about the design, operation and eventual decommissioning of the first two Units at Barakah. A separate OLA was submitted by Nawah to FANR in 2017 for Barakah Units 3 and 4.

Download our Factsheet on the Operating License here

 

Loading Fuel into Barakah Unit 1

Following receipt of the Operating License, Nawah transferred the first nuclear fuel assemblies into the reactor building. This is carried out by using a special fuel transfer system that takes the fuel from storage to the reactor building where it is then lowered by large cranes into specific locations inside the reactor pressure vessel. At this time, the fuel has not been irradiated and can be handled without protective equipment.

The work is closely monitored at all times and is carried out in line with robust procedures and international best practices.

Download our Factsheet on Fuel Load here

Independent Inspection and Verification

Once all of the initial fuel assemblies have been loaded into the reactor, a team of experts from the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) visits the Barakah plant to perform a Physical Inventory Verification inspection. The purpose of this inspection is to identify all fuel assemblies loaded into the reactor core using their unique serial numbers, verifying that all nuclear material declared and stored at Barakah is accounted for. In this way, the IAEA confirms that none of the material has been diverted from peaceful use.

The first inspection was completed in March 2020. The successful conclusion of the inspection demonstrated that the UAE remains committed to non-proliferation and transparency.

Following the inspection, a number of tests are carried out and the top of the Reactor Vessel is re-fitted and sealed. Over the following weeks a series of tests is carried out that are designed to check that every component system on the reactor operates as it should.

 

Reactor Startup

Only after this testing has been completed and verified, Nawah staff begin the process to start the reactor and achieve a sustained nuclear chain reaction inside the reactor for the first time. Reactor startup, also known as First Criticality, is the first time the operators release a neutron, which collides into a Uranium atom (the Uranium pellets are loaded inside the fuel assemblies which are inside the reactor), which releases heat and more neutrons. The new neutrons then hit more Uranium atoms, which split, releasing more heat and neutrons and so on. This is called fission and it continues by itself, controlled by the operators using special equipment.

We then allow the reaction to continue, step-by-step, increasing the amount of heat inside the reactor. We will slowly increase the rate of fission and the amount of heat produced inside the reactor until we can make enough steam to turn the turbine, which will spin the generator and make clean electricity. This process is safely completed over a number of months.

Throughout this process, numerous tests are conducted on the systems as part of an intensive program lasting several months. During the process the reactor is connected to the country’s electricity grid and power is, for the first time, delivered to the UAE, providing the first clean, efficient and reliable nuclear-generated electricity to the Nation.

After completion of all testing, the reactor is shut down for a maintenance check, known as an outage, before starting full commercial operation.

Download our Factsheet on Reactor Start-up here

Grid Connection

In a nuclear energy plant, grid connection happens in the same way as in any gas, coal or oil-fired plant. The equipment and process for grid connection are all the same. The main difference with any fossil-fueled plant is that a nuclear plant uses uranium pellets as fuel to generate heat, which creates steam that spins a turbine, which in turn drives the electric generator to produce electricity. This process creates zero carbon emissions.

To connect a nuclear plant to the electricity grid, the reactor operators slowly increase the heat generated by the reactor to generate enough steam to begin spinning the turbine and driving the generator. Once the reactor is at about 15% power, enough steam is created to have the turbine spinning at its optimal speed of 1,500 revolutions per minute (RPM). This allows the electric generator to prepare to synchronize and connect to the national electricity grid.

With the first megawatts of clean electricity from peaceful nuclear energy now being delivered to homes and business across the UAE, this milestone is a significant moment in the continued safe, secure, and quality-led delivery of the UAE Peaceful Nuclear Energy Program and its Barakah Nuclear Energy Plant, the Arab World’s first peaceful nuclear energy plant.

Download our Factsheet on Grid Connection here